Sponsoring Partners

The SMA program was created by organizations in 2006 to promote examples of service excellence and innovation that can be looked at as potential models by other municipalities. Much of the success of this program lies in the excellent partnerships among municipal associations and the Provincial Government all working towards an achievable objective: to recognize and celebrate excellence and innovation on the part of Saskatchewan’s municipalities.

Thank you to our 2017-2018 Title Sponsor, Affinity Credit Union! 



The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards are made possible through the following program partners:

The Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) www.sarm.ca  

SARM is the voice of 296 rural municipalities in Saskatchewan and is focused on delivering timely, dependable programs and services to meet the needs of its members while influencing government policy and facilitating municipalities to work together to foster rural development and build strong, sustainable communities.

The Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA) www.suma.org    

SUMA is the voice of 458 urban governments in Saskatchewan whose members include cities, towns, villages, northern municipalities, and resort communities.  SUMA advocates, negotiates and initiates improvements in local, provincial and federal legislation, and delivers programs and services to members to enhance the quality of life in Saskatchewan.

The Saskatchewan Ministry of Government Relations www.gr.gov.sk.ca

The Ministry of Government Relations is responsible for municipal relations in the province of Saskatchewan and is committed to building safe and vibrant communities that can effectively respond to the challenges of growth; promote economic opportunity; and enhance the quality of life for their residents.



Special thanks is given to the New North, the Rural Municipal Administrators’ Association of Saskatchewan (RMAA) and the Urban Municipal Administrator Association of Saskatchewan (UMAAS) who provide regular guidance and feedback to the SMA program.